Guest – Karen Bovenmyer – Swift for the Sun Debut

SwiftForTheSun_headerbanner

SWIFT FOR THE SUN is my first published novel, and I’m grateful to Brynn for sharing her web-space with me today.

When I sat down to write a rousing pirate adventure, I wasn’t quite sure how to begin. My best writing is character-based, so I needed a pair I loved and felt I already partly knew. I made lists of all my favorite movies and books and selected out some of my beloved themes. The smuggler who needs redemption. The man of the jungle as the lonely king of beasts. I asked: What would happen if Han Solo and Tarzan fell in love? And I started writing.

Today, eight years later, I’d like to share that book with you.

I primarily write science fiction, fantasy, and horror, so writing a romantic historical was very different for me. I found myself researching strange things like “How exactly DO you incite a volcanic eruption?” and “How many barrels of gunpowder were on a standard merchant ship in the 1820s Caribbean?” as well as “How did the gauchos of South America knife-fight with the facon?” “What historical evidence is there of LGBT activity in the seven seas?” Researching curses and proverbs from seven different languages (the Caribbean was particularly international at the time) was both educational and amusing. I have degrees in anthropology and history, so it was fun to get to use those with my MFA in creative writing as I crafted SWIFT FOR THE SUN.

I’m excited to share this action/adventure romance with the world.

SWIFT FOR THE SUN by Karen Bovenmyer

Release date March 27, 2017

80k words

Cover artist: Anna Sikorska

m/m historical

Blurb:

Benjamin Lector imagines himself a smuggler, a gun runner, and an all-around scoundrel. A preacher’s son turned criminal, first and foremost, he is a survivor.

When Benjamin is shipwrecked on Dread Island, fortune sends an unlikely savior—a blond savage who is everything Benjamin didn’t know he needed. Falling in love with Sun is easy. But pirates have come looking for the remains of Benjamin’s cargo, and they find their former slave, Sun, instead.

Held captive by the pirates, Benjamin learns the depths of Sun’s past and the horrors he endured and was forced to perpetrate. Together, they must not only escape, but prevent a shipment of weapons from making its way to rebellious colonists. Benjamin is determined to save the man he loves and ensure that a peaceful future together is never threatened again. To succeed might require the unthinkable—an altruistic sacrifice.

Buy SWIFT FOR THE SUN at Dreamspinner Press ebook | Dreamspinner Press paperback

Author Bio:

Karen Bovenmyer earned an MFA in Creative Writing: Popular Fiction from the University of Southern Maine. She teaches and mentors students at Iowa State University and serves as the Nonfiction Assistant Editor of Escape Artists’ Mothership Zeta Magazine. She is the 2016 recipient of the Horror Writers Association Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley Scholarship. Her poems, short stories and novellas appear in more than 40 publications and her first novel, SWIFT FOR THE SUN, an LGBT romantic adventure in 1820s Caribbean, will be available from Dreamspinner Press on March 27, 2017. http://karenbovenmyer.com/

Social Media Links:

https://www.linkedin.com/in/karenbovenmyer

https://www.facebook.com/karen.bovenmyer

https://twitter.com/karenbovenmyer

Leave a Reply

