Hey there.

Today, I have the privilege of hosting Antonia Aquilante who is speaking about her debut release “The Prince’s Consort”.

<><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><>

Many thanks to Brynn for having me as a guest today! I’m Antonia Aquilante, and my debut novel, The Prince’s Consort, will be released by Dreamspinner Press on October 16th. When I signed my contract for The Prince’s Consort, I was giddy. It was like no other moment in my life. I felt happy and fortunate and thrilled; I still do. I’ve always written stories – I drew them in pictures or acted them out with my dolls long before I knew how to write them down. When I was twelve, I told myself I would be a published author one day. It’s taken me a while to fulfill that dream. It was four or five years ago when I decided to get serious about writing and being published. I sat down and finished writing a novel I’d been toying with for a long time. Then I spent a long time making it the best it could be. At the same time, I joined the Romance Writers of America and the New Jersey Romance Writers, my local chapter. I sort of stumbled into joining, but I’m so glad I did. I’ve learned so much about the craft of writing and the publishing industry as a member of these organizations, and I continue to learn, all to make myself a better writer.

 

That first novel I finished was not The Prince’s Consort, nor were the two that followed it. I wrote The Prince’s Consort in 2014, and I wrote a portion of it during a writing challenge run by the New Jersey Romance Writers called Jersey Romance Writing Month, or JeRoWriMo. JeRoWriMo, held each year, challenges participants to write at least 30,000 words during the month of February. Now, I’m a competitive person, I readily admit. Mostly with myself, but still competitive. Give me something like this, and I’m not only going to push myself to meet the goal, but to exceed it. Which was great because I wrote lots of words. But the best part of doing it was that it kept me on track. I’d always done my best to write every day, but during JeRoWriMo I got into the habit of daily word count goals from having to report in with my progress each day, and that habit continues. I don’t always meet my goal for the day, but I always do my best to.

 

Maybe the best part about JeRoWriMo is the support and encouragement participants give each other. Negative words about our progress are eliminated (no saying I only wrote this much etc), each day’s count is cheered on, and every person who crosses the finish line is celebrated. There’s even a mascot. Writing is such a solitary occupation that having that connection with other writers is amazing and very welcome.

 

I have also heard it said that participating in JeRoWriMo brings luck, with books written during the month gaining their authors agents or offers of publication. Well, The Prince’s Consort is being published this week, and the book I was writing during the next JeRoWriMo was accepted by Dreamspinner as well. The Artist’s Masquerade is the second book in the series beginning with The Prince’s Consort, and it will be out in December or January. So maybe there is something to this luck thing.

The Prince's Consort pic

The Prince’s Consort

by Antonia Aquilante

M/M Fantasy Romance

Publisher: Dreamspinner Press

Cover Artist: Anne Cain

Release Date: October 16, 2015

Length: Novel (290 pages)

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/26849440-the-prince-s-consort

Links:

DSP (ebook): http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/store/product_info.php?products_id=6937

DSP (paperback): http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/store/product_info.php?products_id=6938

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Princes-Consort-Chronicles-Tournai-Book-ebook/dp/B016ATZM9I/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1444322101&sr=1-1&keywords=The+Prince%27s+Consort+by+antonia+aquilante

ARe: https://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-theprince039sconsort-1897728-143.html

Barnes and Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-princes-consort-antonia-aquilante/1122761874?ean=2940150867680

Kobo: https://store.kobobooks.com/en-us/ebook/the-prince-s-consort

Description:

Legends tell of large cats defending the principality of Tournai, but such creatures have been lost to time.

Or have they?

Prince Philip inherited the throne at a young age, and since then, his life has centered around ruling his country and resisting those pressuring him to take a wife and conceive an heir—forcing him to hide his attraction to men. When kind-hearted Amory is offered to the prince in exchange for more time for Amory’s father to complete a commission, both Philip and Amory are horrified. But Philip agrees to keep Amory at the palace, where they gradually become friends, then lovers. For the first time in his life, Philip is free to share not only his heart, but the magical shape-shifting ability that runs in the royal bloodline.

Neither Amory nor Philip imagined falling in love, and they certainly don’t expect the lengths those who oppose their relationship will go to keep them apart—maybe even resorting to murder.

The Prince's Consort author pic

About the Author:

Antonia Aquilante has been making up stories for as long as she can remember, and at the age of twelve, decided she would be a writer when she grew up. After many years and a few career detours, she has returned to that original plan. Her stories have changed over the years, but one thing has remained consistent – they all end in happily ever after.

She has a fondness for travel (and a long list of places she wants to visit and revisit), taking photos, family history, fabulous shoes, baking treats which she shares with friends and family, and of course reading. She usually has at least two books started at once and never goes anywhere without her Kindle. Though she is a convert to ebooks, she still loves paper books the best, and there are a couple thousand of them residing in her home with her.

Born and raised in New Jersey, she is living there again after years in Washington, DC, and North Carolina for school and work. She enjoys being back in the Garden State but admits to being tempted every so often to run away from home and live in Italy.

She is a member of the Romance Writers of America and the New Jersey Romance Writers.

Website: www.antoniaaquilante.com

Twitter: www.twitter.com/antoniaquilante

Facebook: www.facebook.com/AntoniaAquilanteAuthor

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/14431299.Antonia_Aquilante

 

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

