Monday Meets: Ki Brightly

Hey, Welcome Ki Brightly to my humble little blog, talking about her new book Threefold Love.

<><><<><>><><>

Threefold Love is special to me because it was painful to write. Not the writing part, writing is fun, but I wrote this entire book between the hours of 4 a.m. and 8 a.m. while slugging coffee before a full day of work. Afterwards I would stumble home to do all of my family stuff and collapse exhausted into bed before de-ja-vuing my way through the next day. This went on for months and I think my significant other really started hating me. I scraped and clawed and fought for the time to write this book because it was important to prove to myself that writing an entire novel wasn’t a pipe dream. I mean, if JK Rowling did it, why couldn’t I? (Yes, I do make a habit of comparing myself to former billionaires. It’s good for the ego, you should try it.) Threefold Love was my last ditch effort to prove to myself that all those clichés you hear when you’re a kid about following your dreams is, in fact, a possibility and not a load of unicorn manure. When I typed the last word on the last page I screamed a war whoop that startled my fellow early morning goers at the coffee shop I’d started haunting before work so badly someone came over to see if I was having some sort of “episode”. Xavier, Andrew, and Duncan have the breath of life. They are their own people.
I’m still in awe of that. Writing is so weird.
So, I wrote this book and fell in love with my characters. I wanted them to be happy, go on to have lives, find fulfillment, and all that happy jazz. I set out to do that and somewhere along the line they hijacked the story, and I realized Threefold Love wasn’t going to be the end, so much as it was going to be a start point of a whole new universe I don’t see myself ever abandoning. After you read Threefold Love and decide you like Duncan best (Because everyone always tells me they like him best, but you don’t have to. Really.) and you’re sitting there going, now what? Well, I’m already working on that, but first, you need to read Threefold Love. Happy reading!

extremelyfinalcopyofThreefoldLovecoverart

Captain Xavier Hobbs, a decommissioned combat engineer, was chronically lonely in the Army. But once he is back to being a civilian, with no family and nothing to ground him, he drifts. All he wants is a real home, a real life, and love—but that is easy to wish for and hard to make happen. 

When he meets Andrew Landry, a high school English teacher, Xavier thinks he has found everything he has ever wanted, maybe even someone he can trust with his scars–the ones on his mind and body. Andrew’s quick wit and outgoing personality reel Xavier in slowly but surely. But he isn’t certain which way Andrew swings, and doesn’t dare to do more than hope the friendly man is actually flirting.

Then, on what Xavier idly wishes were their first date, disaster strikes in the form of Duncan McNeil, a fellow Wiccan and Andrew’s fiancé. Xavier’s hope is smashed to pieces, but Duncan and Andrew may have a different point of view. All they need is a little magic, some hope, and a lot of love to put everything back together.
E-Book: http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/store/product_info.php?products_id=6278
Print Book: http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/store/product_info.php?products_id=6279

Ki’s hobbies include writing, painting, cooking, eating, and exercising (because of the cooking and eating). Ki is also an established beach bum during the late spring and summer months, which tends to cut into writing time. Occasionally, breaks are taken from the writing process to go to a day job and have snuggles with the significant other.

Connections
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/kibrightly
Twitter: @kibrightly
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/25163547-threefold-love?from_search=true
Author’s Blog: https://brightlybooks.wordpress.com/
E-mail: kibrightly@gmail.com

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Monday Meets: Ki Brightly | The Story Struggle and Beyond

Leave a Reply

