I Want My Christianity Back – Without the Ugly Baggage

I like this article. I must admit that I’ve pretty much stopped telling people I’m Christian for just these reasons. I believe in LOVE…not in the hate that the loudest groups of Christians profess.

TIME

PatheosLogo_Blue

This article originally appeared on Patheos

I don’t like telling people I’m a Christian.

It’s not that I’m ashamed of being a Christian; I’m not – at all. It is just that the word “Christian” comes with so much ugly baggage.

Telling someone I’m a Christian means I must immediately follow it up with, “but not that kind of Christian.” It’s like saying, “Yeah, sure, these are some mind bogglingly ugly suitcases, but I’ve got the coolest stuff on the inside of them. No, really, I do.”

It’s just not worth the effort; and, frankly, I’m tired of lugging these ugly, heavy things around.

Truthfully, I don’t blame people who assume that if you’re Christian you’re anti-LGBT, anti-abortion, anti-real equality, anti-other religions and pretty much anti-anything else that one small but loud subset of Christians find offensive or threatening.

It completely makes sense. It’s why I don’t want to use…

View original post 925 more words

2 Comments

  1. “When you see someone who claims to follow Jesus who has or wants power; when they are saying things about Christianity that cause hurt to other people, when they create divisions, stating beliefs or supporting policies that marginalize already marginalized groups, when they say things that would allow one group of people to exert their will and beliefs on another group of people, you need to immediately question their sincerity and more so their motivation.”

    Or they are just saying what the bible says.
    Matthew 5:17-20 Bible-icon.png

    1Think not that I am come to destroy the law, or the prophets: I am not come to destroy, but to fulfil.18 For verily I say unto you, Till heaven and earth pass, one jot or one tittle shall in no wise pass from the law, till all be fulfilled. 19 Whosoever therefore shall break one of these least commandments, and shall teach men so, he shall be called the least in the kingdom of heaven: but whosoever shall do and teach them, the same shall be called great in the kingdom of heaven. 20 For I say unto you, That except your righteousness shall exceed the righteousness of the scribes and Pharisees, ye shall in no case enter into the kingdom of heaven.

    All the laws shall remain in effect ‘Till heaven and earth pass’. Seems pretty clear. Meaning a father can sell his daughter into sexual slavery.

    Exodus 21:7
    “If a man sells his daughter as a servant, she is not to go free as male servants do.

    And lets not forget the stoning of adulterers, those who work on the Sabbath and insolent children. Plus a whole lot more truly ugly things the scriptures command. I can understand why a liberal Christian would want to separate him or herself from such brutality and evil. But if you pick and choose which parts to follow, how do you choose which parts? If you use your innate sense of right and wrong, then what do you need the bible for? You already know right from wrong. Those who don’t can follow the bible and still commit horrendous acts of violence, hate and destruction, and still be right with the Lord. After all, it’s in the Bible.
    It’s God’s word.

    • Jerry, you have definite points, especially with what was said in the New Testament. But, I’ve never been a traditional Christian, I guess. I’ve never really believed that everything in the Bible should be followed and believed blindly. There is documentation to suggest that the Bible has been added to and subtracted from over the years. There are accounts that suggest that the church picked and chose what to include in the Bible during the Middle Ages. They wanted things that would keep the church in power and keep the people in line. So, I’ve never really believed in the Bible, per se. I believe in Jesus, or at least who I believe Jesus was. I’m not sure if I believe he is actually God’s son or just a prophet, so that right there would keep other people from calling me a true Christian. But, I believe in his message of love. And I really don’t like it when people try to use the person of Jesus and a supposed message of love to justify hatred.

      I think that’s mostly what this article was saying. And is the reason I reposted. Not so much that I believe everything the bible says, (because I really don’t) but just that I think “Christianity” is being misused.

Leave a Reply

