Walk Beside Me Awhile

I know several people like that. The parent of one of my students calls the school just about every day to talk to me…supposedly about how to handle her son, but it turns into ‘what happened on her soaps’, ‘what the neighbor said yesterday,’…anything really. She’s just lonely, and raising a challenging child with absolutely no support system.

Christine Composes

Take A Few Minutes to Listen

In the course of bustling around the hospital ward, Nurse Edith came past the room of an elderly lady who’d been in the hospital for a short time, recovering from surgery. The old dear was starting to shuffle around again; now she was standing in the doorway and called to Edith as she went past. With a cheerful smile Edith stopped to see if the lady needed anything.

“Isn’t there a television room at the end of the hall?” the old lady asked. “Would you help me to go there?”

“Sure I will. But it will be such a long walk for you, dear. Let me find a wheelchair and I’ll zip you down there in no time.” Edith looked around for a chair.

“Oh, you needn’t do that. The walk will do me good. Just take my arm and I’ll manage if we…

View original post 186 more words

Leave a Reply

