When is it okay to shoot my students?

Funny, but about a serious topic. I had no idea any college campuses were evening THINKING about allowing guns?

Fully Myelinated

Brilliant Op-Ed from a professor in Idaho– where guns have newly been allowed on campus.  Also fits perfectly with the Lithwick piece from yesterday.  In case you don’t feel like reading it all, here’s most of it:

In light of the bill permitting guns on our state’s college and university campuses, which is likely to be approved by the state House of Representatives in the coming days, I have a matter of practical concern that I hope you can help with: When may I shoot a student?

I am a biology professor, not a lawyer, and I had never considered bringing a gun to work until now. But since many of my students are likely to be armed, I thought it would be a good idea to even the playing field…

I assume that if a student shoots first, I am allowed to empty my clip; but given the velocity…

View original post 287 more words

Leave a Reply

