Monday Meet: Jake Wells

 

Today’s guest is Jake Wells.  Thanks so much for appearing today Jake.

 

Brynn,

 

I so appreciate being asked to be a guest on your blog.  For so long, the idea of writing “A White Coat is my Closet” was little more than a dream.  There’s a part of me that still can’t believe that it was published and I’m actually able to hold my story bound by a cover.

 

 

I have to say, this has really been a very fun odyssey.  I have always wanted to write a book but really never believed that I would succeed in completing it.  In fact, I had probably written four chapters before I was even able to envision in my head what the whole story was going to be about.  When I began the project, the only piece of advice I was given was, “write what you know”.  Consequently, the first chapters I wrote related to some of the experiences I had during my years completing a pediatric residency.  Then, as I continued thinking about that period of my life, I remembered another event that consumed a huge amount of my attention.  I recalled the struggles I was having coming to terms with being gay and how those issues were catapulted into the forefront of my life when I fell in love for the first time. Once I latched onto that theme, the story began to write itself.

 

 

 

As a pediatrician, I really am extremely passionate about providing health care to children in a compassionate and loving manner.  Hopefully, my book won’t have too much medicine for readers’ tastes but experiences that relate to the triumphs and tragedies of taking care of children figure prominently.  In addition, I’m a gay man who grew up in a small community where I was pretty much indoctrinated to believe that it was abhorrent to be anything other than a God fearing, football throwing, woman chasing, straight man.  Somehow, the combination of those two life experiences found a voice that evolved into a story.

WhiteCoatIsMyCloset[A]_postcard_front_DSP

 

Borrowing from the blurb:

Zack Sheldon doesn’t have time to be lonely. He’s in his last year as a pediatric resident, almost married to the job, and busy with the joys and sorrows that come with providing medical care to children. Professionally, he’s confident, accomplished, and respected. But personally he’s too insecure to approach a sexy man like Sergio Quartulli, or even to imagine that Sergio might be attracted to him.  

 

Zack spots Sergio from across the gym, and then a chance meeting poolside somehow turns into a date. Before Zack knows it, they’ve become a couple, but Zack’s white coat is his closet at the hospital, and committing to a relationship with Sergio makes it difficult for Zack to continue hiding behind it. On the other hand, he grew up in a small town where being gay was shameful and he works in an environment that can sometimes be homophobic, so it’s hard for him to open up about who he is. Before Zack can make a choice on his own terms, circumstances force him to make a decision. He can continue to hide, or he can step out from behind his white coat and risk everything for love

 

So there you have it. “A White Coat is my Closet” is cornucopia of experiences playing themselves out in a fictional story while attempting to remain true to those aspects of my life that were fundamentally most important;  seeking self-acceptance, the wonderful and yet challenging process of becoming a doctor, and falling in love.  Hopefully, if you are inclined to read the book, you will feel like you’ve participated in the journey.

It’s also worth mentioning that because I feel so fortunate to have been given the opportunity to have my book published, I’ve decided to play the good fortune forward.  All the royalties from the sale of “A White Coat is my Closet” will go to the HOMELESS YOUTH PROJECT at the LA GAY AND LESBIAN CENTER.  By purchasing my book, you are not only lending your support to my dream of becoming an author, but are also contributing to improving the lives of homeless gay teens.  As it says in my book’s dedication, sometimes success in life starts with being given a chance.

Again, thank you so much for the help Brynn.  I really am “Social Media” challenged so were it not to be for the help of my friends, I think it would be difficult for my book to find its way out of the closet!

I’m going to include two links for your readers.  One is a description of the services that are offered Homeless Youth through the Gay & Lesbian Center and the other is a link for those people who might want to consider contributing directly to the cause I’m supporting.  My hope is that this outreach might really make a difference.   

http://www.lagaycenter.org/site/PageServer?pagename=YW_Youth_Services

https://secure2.convio.net/laglc/site/Donation2;jsessionid=7883681145C8E5CA35A4DDD6FD8C0E4E.app274a?df_id=4661&4661.donation=form1

Oh yeah!  Also, here’s the link where your readers can find my book!

http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/store/product_info.php?products_id=4325&cPath=55_948

 

 

Leave a Reply

