Monday Meet: Garrett Leigh

Garrett Leigh is here on my humble little blog.

Slide_headerbanner

B:  What books have most influenced your life most?

G: Junk, by Melvin Burgess is my all time favourite book. Addiction is an issue close to my heart, and this British classic weaves a bleak tale of heartache and destruction I’ve never seen matched. It’s got a bit of everything–love, life, death, romance, and above all, a dose of harsh realism. There is no happy ending, or even a tragic one. The ending just…is.

B:  When did you start writing? 

G:  When I was a little girl, but back in those days, it was just called telling fibs.

B:  What inspired you to submit your first book for publication?

 G:  A fit of utter madness. To this day, I can’t believe it panned out.

B:  Do you see writing as a career?

G:  Now that’s a tough one, because the society we live judges success by material gain, and if I were of that mindset I’d say HELL NO! I’ve got a family to support and I know even if my books sold beyond my wildest dreams, it wouldn’t be enough to feed them, pay the mortgage and support my unhealthy kindle addiction.

B:  And, the way I manage my writing is far more intrusive than a pesky every day job. Barring pressing family issues, whatever I’m working on is the last thing I think of before I go to sleep and the first thing that breaks through my traumatised, early morning haze.

G:  When is your latest book being released?

B:  October 14th. Slide (Roads #1) and its accompanying FREE short story, Marked (Roads #1.5) are available for preorder from Dreamspinner Press right now.

Slide

http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/store/product_info.php?products_id=4259&cPath=55_944

Marked http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/store/product_info.php?products_id=4305&cPath=55_944

B:  Tell us about the other books you’ve written so far.

G:  I have a novella, Bullet, out with Loose ID in November, and next year, I have two novels due out with Dreamspinner. Rare, which is the sequel to Slide, and Only Love, which is a standalone novel featuring a wounded war vet, and his epileptic lover.

B:  What are your current projects?

G:  My current WIP is the second book in the Blue Boy series. It’s taken an unexpected turn and is driving me quietly mad. ‘Nuff said.

B:  Could we have links to any webpages you would like us to have access to?

 Social media:
Website: http://garrettleigh.com
Twitter: https://www.twitter.com/Garrett_Leigh
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/garrettleighbooks
Cover art enquiries: blackjazzdesign@gmail.com

Slide (Roads #1)

Don’t look back. Don’t you ever look back…

Shy tattoo artist Ash has a troubled past. Years of neglect, drug abuse, and life on the streets have taken their toll, and sometimes it seems the deep, unspoken bond with his lover is the only balm for wounds he doesn’t quite understand.

Chicago paramedic Pete is warmth, love, and strength—things Ash never knew he could have, and never even knew he wanted until Pete showed him. But fate is a cruel, cruel mistress, and when nightmares collide with the present, their tentatively built world comes crashing down.

Traumatic events in Pete’s work life distance him from home, and he doesn’t realize until it’s too late that Ash has slipped away. Betrayal, secrets, and lies unfold, and when a devastating coincidence takes hold, Pete must fight with all he has to save the love of his life.

SLIDEORIG

5 Comments

  1. Pingback: Monday Meet: JoAnne Soper-Cook | Brynn Stein

  2. Pingback: Monday Meet: Jessica Skye Davies | Brynn Stein

  3. Pingback: Monday Meet: Layla | Brynn Stein

  4. Pingback: Monday Meet: Sophie Bonaste | Brynn Stein

Leave a Reply

