Monday Meet: Andrew Gordon

B: Today’s guest is Andrew Q. Gordon. Welcome.

A: Thanks for having me Brynn.

B: Tells us a bit about yourself.

A: These usually end up sounding like a personal ad, but I’ll try to keep it clean. I just got married this weekend – after 18 years together, the state finally agreed it was proper for us to get married. Mike and I have a daughter who turned two last week. She’s a handful, but I always look forward to coming home to see her. Mon-Fri, 8-5, I’m a prosecutor – which is a good gig as far as ‘evil day jobs’ go. I like sports, soccer and baseball mostly, so you might see both in my stories. And I’m a major caffeine junkie.

There that didn’t sound too much like an eHarmony profile did it?

B: Give us an overview of what you’ve written so far.

A: So far I’ve written three books that have been published.  (Un)Masked was a paranormal contemporary story I co-wrote with Anyta Sunday. The Last Grand Master is the first book of a high fantasy series – Champion of the Gods. And Purpose is another contemporary fantasy novel.  All three were published by Dreamspinner Press.

I also wrote a few free stories that are available on Gay Authors. Those were all contemporary college age stories.

 B: Do you have a favorite book and/or favorite character?

 A: My favorite book would be Second Shot – its one of the free stories I posted on Gay Authors. I just have an affinity for that one more than others.

My favorite character would be Kel – but he’s not been introduced yet in the Champion series. I’ll be interested to see what others think of him when I finally get to the point where he’s part of the story.

B: Do you have a favorite scene?

A: I really had to think about this – I’d probably say I have several favors – but most have not been published yet.  Of my published books – the scene were Gar meets Phillip Greer. Gar was there to avenge the innocent woman Phillip killed but found himself unable to carry out his role as the hand of vengeance. As far as minor characters go, Phillip Greer was one of my favorites.

B:  What was the easiest story to write?

A:  I’d have to say Purpose. It was based in DC so the locations were vivid in my mind. It also had an element of law enforcement that I didn’t have to make up.

B:  What was the hardest story to write?

A:  The Last Grand Master and the entire series is the most challenging. I’m in essence getting to play god and I need to get it right. Who knew it was so hard to create a world? I mean six days and the Lord rested right? All blasphemy aside, world building is difficult to do well. There are so many things to work out. Toss in a world based on magic and you’ve got to deal with trying to keep things consistent. I totally love it, but it is a challenge.

B: Are any of the characters based on someone you know?

 A: No, not really. At least no one full fledged. There are certainly elements of real people in many of my characters, but there is no one that I could say is the embodiment of a specific character. I’d be too afraid to offend someone by ‘basing’ a character on them.

B: Since there is always another story to tell, what are you working on now?

A: I have several things in the works. Right now I’m working to finish book two of the Champion of the Gods series. I hit a rough patch based on word limits for publishing that required I rework a large part of the book. That has been a struggle, but I think I can see the light at the end of the tunnel.

I’m also working on a contemporary college age story about single teenage father trying to go to college, raise his son and the problems that presents trying to have a relationship.

B:  What have you read lately that most people haven’t read but should?

A:  Tough one cause I don’t know what others ‘haven’t read.’ But Loving Aidan by Ashavan Doyon, Same Page by Lily Velden and What Binds Us, by Larry Benjamin are all books I really liked. Lily has book published the sequel already to Same Page and Larry recently released, Unbroken and I’m looking forward to those.

B:  Last question is all yours – feel free to talk about anything you want your readers to know about you, your book, anything at all.

A:  This is one of those – say something in your funny accent type questions. What the hell do you say when you can say anything at all? Hopefully something worth reading.

The ability to get married after 18 years was probably the second most exciting event in my life. Not the first, you ask? No, the single greatest day in my life was being there when my daughter was born and I got to hold her. Being a father is a blessing I wish on everyone who ever thought or hoped to be a parent. Raising our daughter with someone I love and respect, who’s been there for me for 18 years has been a gift I never really expected when I came out. The idea that I could get married, be a father, have a family just like the one I grew up in was foreign twenty years ago. Time change and so do attitudes. I hope everyone who has the same dreams I did gets to see them come true.

Okay, cheesy post wedding day bliss message off.

B:  Thanks so much for coming today Andrew.

A:  Thanks for having me Brynn.

8 Comments

  1. Thanks Jana, it was a great weekend all around. I think its sad that anyone would love their child less than we love ours, but I’m sure it happens. Now ask me when she’s 12 and not 2 and maybe I’ll feel differently, though I doubt it, i’ll just be more frustrated. 😛

    Thanks again for stopping by.

    Andy

  2. Pingback: Monday Meet: JoAnne Soper-Cook | Brynn Stein

  3. Pingback: Monday Meet: Jessica Skye Davies | Brynn Stein

  4. Pingback: Monday Meet: Layla | Brynn Stein

  5. Pingback: Monday Meet: Sophie Bonaste | Brynn Stein

Leave a Reply

